2019 NARC Awards: Leadership Awards Deadline Extended to May 13

NARC is accepting nominations for its 2019 Achievement and Leadership Awards, which will be presented at the Awards Dinner on June 11th during the 53rd Annual Conference and Exhibition, June 9-12, in Omaha, Nebraska. Conference attendance is encouraged.

The awards provide an excellent opportunity for winners to promote their successes to a larger audience, as well as share best practices with their partners and peers.

NARC Achievement Awards

The National Association of Regional Councils’ Achievement Awards recognize excellence in programs and services of regional councils and metropolitan planning
organizations (MPOs). These awards highlight organizations that promote and exemplify regional cooperation and coordination and have a positive impact in their
region. Involvement of private and civic sectors and originality, duplicability, and quality of the program/project are also taken into consideration.

These awards are given in three categories:
Major Metro: 1 million population and over
Medium Metro: 251,000 population to 1 million population
Rural: 250,000 population or less

NARC Leadership Awards

The Walter Scheiber Leadership Award recognizes significant impacts an executive director has made at the local, state, or national level. The awardee must demonstrate professional and executive management excellence in carrying-out regional concepts, approaches, and programs. Award winners have contributed to the goals of NARC and advanced the cause of regionalism through their dedicated service and effort.

The Tom Bradley Leadership Award recognizes leadership excellence an elected or appointed official has made in advocating regional concepts, approaches, and programs at any level of government. Awardees are highly respected in their field and provide a high quality of service to their member regional council or MPO.

The NARC President’s Award recognizes leadership and excellence in advocating regional concepts, approaches, and programs at any level of the regional community. This award recognizes any partner, NARC member, or congressional member who has provided time and dedication to benefit regionalism and NARC. Retiring Executive Directors or policy officials are often awarded this for recognition of their career.

Contact Eli Spang,, with questions.